Annyong
Life in South Korea

My English Room

My English Room

My English Room

Some of you have probably heard me mention the awesome new English Room my school built during the winter vacation (actually the direct translation of the sign over the door is “English Experience Having Room”).  Anyway I thought I’d give you a look at it just to prove I wasn’t exaggerating.  The school dropped about 40 grand hooking this room up with things like Surround Sound, a Big Screen LCD TV, a reading section, a new desk/computer etc.  They even put in tables on wheels so I can adjust group sizes, change the room layout, or even clear the entire floor for a big game of Musical Chairs or Simon Says.

The reading area

The reading area

While all that stuff is great, my favourite thing about this room is that I get to stay here all day.  Last semester they had me running from class to class to teach.  This semester, the kids come to me.  Not only does this make my life about 100x easier, but there is also the chance that a class will just randomly not show up, which gives me a couple extra break periods a week!

Some artwork by the kids

Some artwork by the kids

These last few pictures are of my very own brainchild.  This is what happens when a big College Basketball fan is deprived March Madness….I made my own!  That’s right, four classes and 77  sixth graders facing off in a head to head, single-elimination, rapid-spelling tournament.  I’m even having a trophy made up for the winner.   Just goes to show that you can make anything into a competition if you try hard enough.  (For the record, we’re into the 2nd round and the kids freakin’ love this game.)

The Bracket

The Bracket

 

The kids have to use magnets to spell the words as fast as they can.  There are some pretty funny results at times. (April)

The kids have to use magnets to spell the words as fast as they can. There are some pretty funny results at times. (April)

2 Responses to “My English Room”

  1. AWESOME!!!

  2. That’s a pretty sweet bracket you got going there Miller, not to mention that sick ass TV in your class, maybe you could illegally hook up some ESPN or something and get some baseball here and there or maybe watch the NBA finals.


Leave a Reply

